Ratings & Reviews
globalRatingImage 0 out of 5 (0 reviews)
0% recommended this item
Write a Review
  • ratingImage BeccaN | Thu, 21 Feb, 2013

  • ratingImage MelMel383 | Tue, 19 Feb, 2013

    We got this mattress at the recommendation of friends. Got the box home and it was super easy. Cut the wrapping, put it on the frame and let it unfold. We let it sit and "retain shape" for about 7 hours, and it was still pretty folded on one side. It did get a little flatter after a few days, but never really laid flat. My husband said he felt like he was sleeping in a taco shell. Kept it for over a week, then decided to take it back, (which is a pain to try to get back in the box if you have to do that), and just ordered another from Sam's Club online. Hopefully the new one will be better! Comfort-wise, we slept GREAT, so we were really bummed that it didnt work out!

  • ratingImage stbateman | Tue, 05 Feb, 2013

    We bougth the King size mattress and love it so much we are getting the Queen for our guest bed so our guets can fall in love too!

  • ratingImage 1buck | Fri, 30 Nov, 2012

    I purchased this mattress 2 days ago. It's great. First time in months I have slept all night with no back pain. Woke up this again morning no pain. I love it. I wish I had got one these several years ago. Gel-foam is the trick if you have a bad back!

  • ratingImage CamperGirl | Sun, 25 Nov, 2012

    Purchased this to replace mattress in our camper. This is a VERY firm mattress, so we're using a 4" memory foam topper. Without the topper, it's pretty miserable. If you have back trouble or bursitis, this one isn't for you. On a positive note, the price was right and it has held up very well. We've had it for a couple of years and doesn't show any signs of wear.

  • ratingImage JohnM1961 | Wed, 08 Aug, 2012

    Wow, what can I say. I bought this after sleeping on a "Sleep Number" for a number of years. First of all, it doesn't come with a box spring, so in the end, it's cheaper to go to a furniture store and purchase a complete set. Next, the firmness, it's not listed. It should be and it should be called Hard. The deal is the bed adjustes well to your body, but it takes time. I tend to roll a lot at night, so this just doesn't work well for me. I've added a 2" pillow top cover to the mattress which has made it better, but still not good. If you like firm mattresses, this might be the one for you. This one is going into my guest room!

  • ratingImage LindainFlorida | Mon, 21 May, 2012

    This bed is great - I've had it for over 5 years and still love it - BUT you need to rotate it. I solved this by not connecting the headboard and rolling the entire bed around once a month or so. Way too heavy to turn, but it will develop gullies where you lay if it's not rotated.

  • ratingImage ThinkOutsideTheBox | Sat, 05 May, 2012

    I wish people would be more thoughtful before they reviewed products. I have a reoccurring back problem and after 14 years on my firm latex mattress, I decided it was time to invest in a new one. I read several reviews on this mattress and the complaints that this mattress is too hard ... I WAS HAPPY. There just isn't such a thing as "too firm" for me. I went to a local Sleepy's to test out the definition of "firm" and found it to my liking. I then purchased this mattress. "Too hard"? "Like sleeping on the ground"? Are you kidding me??? This mattress is softer than my 14 year old mattress. I woke up this morning after my first night of sleeping on it with an attack of sciatica! I can't imagine that any amount of "recovery" is going to get this mattress to the firmness I need. If this mattress is firm, then I am the Queen of England! I will give it a few more days but if it doesn't harden up, it's going back!

  • ratingImage wrongmove | Fri, 16 Mar, 2012

    We bought the serta gel/foam mattress thinking it was going to help my husbands back issues. WRONG THING TO DO!! This was the worst thing we have ever tried to lay on. You might as well be outside camping and sleeping on the ground. Whatever you do do not purchase this mattress. Thanks to Sam's Club we were able to return it for a full refund. Hats off to Sam's.

  • ratingImage woodshedaddict | Sat, 10 Mar, 2012

    My wife and I bought this and anxiously brought it home, and were looking forward to the best night of sleep we had ever had. WRONG! I woke up feeling like I had just went a couple of rounds in the octogon. We are both side-sleepers, and if you are too, then you will probably hate it too. It is WAY too hard and just doesn't let you 'sink in' the mattress at all. We used it for a while to see if it would soften up at all, and it never did. We even tried putting our 2" memory foam matress topper we had been using on our old mattress on it to see if that would help, and it was STILL too hard for either one of us. It was like laying the topper on the floor on plush carpet. The quality was good, and the price was right, but the firmness was not----for us. So unless you like a REALLY firm mattress, and sleep on your back or stomach, then this probably is not the mattress for you. I am about 6' and 230lbs, and my wife is 5'4" and about 115lbs, and it didn't work for either one of us.

  • ratingImage Jennyjen | Fri, 09 Mar, 2012

    I looked and looked for mattress and was told that I need a firm mattress. I laid on several memory foam mattresses at the mattress store and decided to give it a shot. I was told that it can take a week or so to get used to it. After a week plus a couple of days I can say that this is definately not the mattress for me! If you like a VERY firm mattress this is for you. I am happy that I bought it at Sam's because I need to return it. This has been one of the worst weeks of sleep ever for me. I look forward to a traditional mattress again. I slept on the couch last night...

  • ratingImage DoPete | Wed, 22 Feb, 2012

    This mattress is so comfortable; we have it on a platform bed and it fits perfectly. Sleep is not disturbed when your partner gets in or out of bed which makes for a great night's sleep. Do not take this out of the box until you get it into the room - it's extremely heavy but my husband and I are both older and we managed very well. We are considering buying the topper as it would raise the bed a little which would be more comfortable for us. This is a good buy - don't miss it.

  • ratingImage MomtofiveinIndiana | Wed, 18 Jan, 2012

    This is an awesome mattress! It replaced our awful sleep number bed! I prefer a soft bed until I slept on this one! I don't know why we didn't try this one first could have saved $2500! It is firm but you get used to it I did!!!!!

  • ratingImage augustblessing | Tue, 10 Jan, 2012

    I'm a 31-year-old woman who's been having lower back problems for a few years. I mistakenly believed a firm mattress would help, so I bought this one. My husband & I have been sleeping on it for a little over 2 months now & it is horrible! I am a side sleeper but am having to sleep on my back w/ a pillow under my knees just to avoid back pain in this bed! And my husband, who didn't have back problems before, now has back problems! We are taking this bed back & getting a softer one in the next few days!

  • ratingImage LordNorth | Sun, 01 Jan, 2012

    Previously we purchased a memory foam topper for our inner spring mattress and while it made an improvement, we still had all of the motion from the inner spring any time either of us moved. So we really wanted a full foam mattress. Reading the reviews we saw that this was a firm mattress. No problem, we thought since we both like a firmer mattress. After sleeping on it for a week, I can say that it IS a problem. Sleeping on the floor on a comforter is about the same as sleeping on this mattress. We just don't sink in at all. Lying on your back it feels like your shoulders are on the mattress, your hips are on the mattress, and your legs are on the mattress. The small of your back feels like it has absolutely no support and you start the morning aching terribly. Maybe the problem is that we are both relatively light - I'm the heavy-weight at 170lbs. Maybe you need to be a bit heavier to actually sink into the foam to appreciate it. (Perhaps Sams needs a place to enter your weight, not just your age and gender??) In any case, we are looking into a return. We wanted to like this mattress, but after a week of terrible sleep, it is time for something different.

  • ratingImage schlhsrok | Sun, 11 Dec, 2011

    After sleeping on my niece's American Signature memory foam mattress, I wanted one! I made a hasty decision and bought this Serta from Sams. Right away I noticed the the Serta was very light in weight, which is a sure sign of poor materials to me and lighter density compared to the AS mattress. After sleeping on the Serta for almost a week now, I still don't like it. It is not a true memory foam mattress. You don't sink into the bed with the cradle feel that memory foam often provides. It's like sleeping on the floor with a think gel pad. For one thing, you are getting 8" of light, cheap, and hard base foam and two tiny inches of gel memory foam. I want more memory foam!!!

  • ratingImage kbear | Wed, 07 Dec, 2011

    We needed a mattress in a 3rd floor bedroom only accessible by a spiral staircase. This mattress was easily carried to the 3rd floor and it's WONDERFUL!! It's firm and very comfortable.I am sorry that we waited so long to purchase it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a firm mattress. Best sleep we've had in months!!!

  • ratingImage MarkMcD | Wed, 07 Dec, 2011

    We bought one of these last Sunday. Being in a box it was easy to get home and into the bedroom. Unpack, place on bed and carefully cut away wrapping. Stand back and watch it come to life! NO smell at all. It is very firm when cold but warms up quickly. Very comfortable. Morning back pain gone!

  • ratingImage Lovetosleepnow | Sun, 30 Oct, 2011

    My husband and I purchased this mattress from Sam's Club yesterday. Initially, I was skeptical because it was in a box. I thought to myself, how will a queen size mattress, folded up in a box, expand to fit our bed. Additionally, the Sam's Club Clerk told us that they did not sell many of them. We decided to leave the store and go to a mattress store to purchase the mattress. As we were leaving, we decided to check the reviews. After reading them, we decided to purchase the boxed mattress from Sam's. It was super easy to put on our platform bed. It began to expand pretty quickly. After sleeping our new boxed Serta 10" Gel Memory Foam Mattress, I can undoubtedly say that this is the best mattress I have ever slept on. My message to buyers is "Don't Let the Box Fool You"! This mattress is amazing! The price was even more amazing! We contacted several mattress stores, who told us that the starting price was $700! Don't be fooled! Sam's has the best value for the perfect mattress! Remember that it takes up to 72 hours for the mattress to fully expand, but you can sleep on it during that time. I plan on telling everyone about this mattress.

  • ratingImage Jennyjean | Wed, 19 Oct, 2011

    I purchased two of these Queen mattresses when I became a widow after 43 yrs sharing a king and down sizing. I was so scared I had made a big costly mistake, UNTILL I SLEPT on it - OMG!!! I'm 62, female and I had the BEST nights sleep ever & that was only two hours after I put the mattress on the frame I bought here also. I figure I got a 200% better sleep spending maybe 1/4 of what my top rated memory foam was! The second one is for my guest room, now I'm thinking after they sleep on it, they may never want to go home to their beds. OOPS! Did I say that?