Ratings & Reviews
globalRatingImage 4.4 out of 5 (78 reviews)
88% recommended this item
Write a Review
  • ratingImage CommunityAnswer | Thu, 28 Nov, 2013

  • ratingImage CommunityAnswer | Thu, 28 Nov, 2013

  • ratingImage lladnek | Mon, 14 Jan, 2013

    The Smoker was delevered in good condition it was well protected in packaging. The assembly instructions were simple and easy to follow total assembly took about half an hour. The smoker performed nicely it was able to maintain temerature with outside temp around 40 degrees all day the operation was exactly as instructions say. The remote was easy to use also. One item to consider is to make sure to have the front of the smoker elevated slightly to insure proper drainage of the drip pan. otherwise no problems

  • ratingImage Airgator1 | Tue, 25 Dec, 2012

    I bought this smoker at Sam's Club because of the positive reviews that have been posted. We planned on having a nice brisket for Christmas dinner. The smoker made it through the conditioning process but about half way through smoking the brisket (sometime during the night), the electronics quit working. We woke to a cold half done brisket. The brisket is now in the roaster. Maybe we will have a meal before the end of the day. Not sure yet if I am going to return it for a refund or a new unit. By the way, this is one of the newest Masterbuilt models which makes me wonder if they have not only redesigned it but changed their location of manufacturing. If this is the case, chances will be that there will be a large number of defective units. Oh Yes - I called the phone number given in the manual and they were closed for Christmas. Buyer beware!

  • ratingImage ssfds | Mon, 01 Oct, 2012

  • ratingImage meatman1 | Tue, 21 Aug, 2012

    best way to enjoy great & safe smoke style cooking

  • ratingImage cookie3 | Mon, 23 Jul, 2012

    this unit is the best ever for the money we have bragged so much our friends have purchased 4 more of them. set it and for get it it is so easy to use anyone can use it. everything that comes out of it is great. i would reckmoned it to anyone. we have a 800.00 one and the smaller unit is so good we never use the large one. you will not be sorry does a great job

  • ratingImage vacasams | Sun, 08 Jul, 2012

    I've had my Masterbuilt Digital Smokehouse for about 2 year. Used it a few times and it worked fine. Did some major renovations in back yard and stored the unit. Got it out a week ago, fired it up, and found the digital display would not read out correctly. Some of the LCD bars would not show, so the temp/time/meat probe readings were pretty much a matter of guesswork. I keep guessing wrong. I'll see if I can get a replacement controller and what it costs.

  • ratingImage Moosefetish | Sat, 16 Jun, 2012

    We have had ours for 5 years now and lo love it had to replace a casket that's about all we had an issue with grill ribs brisket according to book snd have never been disappointed .

  • ratingImage ajunkman | Sat, 09 Jun, 2012

    After spending 13 years in Texas I missed having brisket. Here in Florida you just don't find a BBQ restaurant using this cut..normally they use a chuck, shoulder or top round. Using the Masterbuild smoker I was able to season up and smoke a nice 14lb brisket for 12 hours. To say it was great is an understatement. The smoker could not be easier to use and the product turned out perfect. My only complaint..the item was not avaialble in the store so I had to wait a week to enjoy my brisket.

  • ratingImage Wheezer08 | Tue, 29 May, 2012

    My husband and I upgraded to this electric smoker from a traditional charcoal stand alone cheapy smoker. This is extremely easy to use, and clean up on the racks, water pan and drip pan is easy (I line the drip pan with aluminum foil for even easier cleanup). The only downside is the smoke ring on the meat is not as visible as it is using charcoal. But the taste and moisture level is excellent. We recommend the small wood chips (not chunks) and emptying your wood bin occasionally to help get continuous smoke. We have done brisket, ribs, pulled pork and pork tenderloin all with great results.

  • ratingImage EmaninBR | Mon, 09 Apr, 2012

    I own one of the original MES 40" units purchased from Sams in 2009. This unit is only 800 watts instead of 1200 watts like the newer units. i have smoked pretty much anything you can smoke in it. both hot smoking and cold smoking . There are a few minor problems w/ the unit but they are easily over come w/ a little smoking knowledge. There is a product available that will allow you to cold smoke cheese ,bacon sausage etc. in the MES. You will not find the digital MES 40" at a cheaper price than Sams. As for the smoke ring .The ring is formed by the gasses released from the combustion of wood . This is an electric unit. it will not produce a smoke ring. Besides the ring is just or looks. that is why they don't judge smoke ring in competitions. If you want to learn more about the MES ,recipes tips, tricks and tactics. go to smokingmeatforums and see for yourself . Like i said mine is 3 years old and when i wear it out ,i will purchase another one.

  • ratingImage Goose973 | Thu, 29 Mar, 2012

    First of all, I have only used this smoker once since I got it. However, it worked great. I made some great ribs on it. They were clearly the best I had ever made, and I'm a certified BBQ judge. It was pretty easy to put together and seems to be fairly well made. Again, I just got it, so I can't really comment on durability. The smoker held a constant temp and the remote is cool. The ribs ended up with just the right amount of smoke flavor, so that part worked well, too. Easy to use.

  • ratingImage greenrn | Sat, 24 Mar, 2012

    A great product requires minimal observation while your food cooks and acquires that wonderful smokey flavor

  • ratingImage deltadude | Tue, 13 Mar, 2012

    I thought I would pass along some some things about the MES (Masterbuilt Electric Smoker) or should me known as (M aking it E asy to S moke meat). First I bought my MES from Sam's club and paid shipping because after reading about the MES on smoking forums it was obvious this was the Best Bang for Buck. Mine didn't have a glass port window, mine didn't have dual temperature probes, mine didn't have 1200 watt heat element. But it still was the best buy then, and still is. I just listed some of the improvements, YES almost every year they make improvements! Other manufactures of small home smokers have even started incorporating some of the MES features in their product. Also note that Masterbuilt customer service is pretty good, some days they may slip but not usually. If they indeed ran out of heat elements, it is a common element found online for about $35.00. I haven't had ANY PROBLEMS at all, and I know of all the common problems but I haven't had them. If you want good info go to smokingmeatforum go to the electric smokers section, hundreds post daily on smoking meat with electric smokers and most own the MES. I will challenge anyone to show me a $400 smoker that will cook 16 racks of ribs and get them all done fairly evenly, and not have to babysit the smoker.

  • ratingImage flour5 | Mon, 20 Feb, 2012

    We loved our smoker but the element burned out and when we contacted the company they no longer had any replacement elements. This smoker was only 3 years old. It was the Masterbuilt electric smoker without the window. I would not buy another Masterbuilt product because they do not keep replacement parts long enough. Be careful of all Masterbuilt products!!!!!

  • ratingImage Vafan | Sat, 11 Feb, 2012

    These are junk. Over the past 5 years my brother and I have owned 4 of these things and only 1 is still working. The first one broke under warranty and it was replaced by a 30inch smoker instead. Customer service is not good, not sympathetic at all. They don't return calls. Would not recommend.

  • ratingImage CCBB | Wed, 01 Feb, 2012

    The smoker itself is great. The instructions might as well not be there. I had to look all over online to find out how much water to put in the bowl and how how long to smoke everything. And then it was hit or miss.

  • ratingImage shadyjackalope | Tue, 24 Jan, 2012

    I switched from a gas smoker to this unit. Not happy that the meats do not brown and look rather pale?? Has anyone else had this problem?

  • ratingImage hemlock | Mon, 16 Jan, 2012

Loading More...
Load More